Pan’s LabyrinthUpon recommendation, I also rented and watched Pan’s Labyrinth (2006) over the weekend. On some level it was strange to watch two films that fall under the genre (fantasy) and ostensibly explore some of the same themes but were so completely different. I don’t know if it was the mood I was in, or the film itself, but I was very saddened by the resolution. I found nothing redeeming about the conclusion of the film, although perhaps for some the promise of another (better) life is optimistic. The moral learned by Ofelia–shed your own blood before you shed the blood of an innocent–seems especially relevant today, but since she must learn this lesson at the expense of her own life, director Guillermo del Toro seems to imply there is little hope for our current crisis. The scenes involving the torture of Pedro by Capitan were so vivid I could not bear to watch them, which is atypically sensitive of me, but also a reflection of the relevancy and timeliness of this topic.

