Goblet of FireOne’s first post aught to be something auspicious and memorable, right? But I’m flat out of brilliant ideas at the moment. I did see the fifth of the Harry Potter films over the past weekend with my nephews and niece. And, yes, I’ve also pre-ordered the final book from Amazon, though not without a good dose of Catholic guilt over not purchasing the book locally. Talking Leaves (the best Buffalo bookstore) will win the next round. I can’t say that I’ve reread any of the books, so my level of Potter expertise is minimal at best, but one of the most interesting aspects of Rowlings’ series for me is the way the characters have matured as the storyline develops. The fifth novel is no different, portraying a moodier but more sophisticated (teaching classes, weighing in on politics) Harry. The movie is quieter than the other four, but manages, as noted by A. O. Scott, writing for The New York Times, to smoothly compress the action of Rowling’s longest novel. The darker shade of Hogwarts fits both the characters’ developing personalities and our times. Like Scott, I also appreciated the sugary pink evil Dolores Umbridge played by Imelda Staunton and once again Alan Rickman does not fail to impress with his this time slightly more harried and benevolent Snape. Overall, worth the price of the ticket.

The picture above depicts Ron, Harry and Hermione in the film, Harry Potter and The Goblet of Fire. The photo was taken from the website: http://www.aceshowbiz.com/news/view/00004187.html

